Gluten Free Foods List


-->



Foods Containing Gluten

November 12, 2010 · Posted in Gluten Free Foods List · 23 Comments

Many foods containing gluten are obvious and can be easily avoided by someone who needs to follow a gluten free diet, but others could slip by unnoticed. If you suffer from celiac disease then you need to remove every trace of gluten in order to improve your health.

Gluten sensitivity is mainly treated by avoiding foods that contain gluten. Especially all products that contain wheat, barley and rye must be avoided. Nowadays, many foods and products that are gluten free are already labeled that way, however it’s still a good idea to know the various foods containing gluten .

Foods that fall into this category include most foods that have carbohydrates. This includes breads, pastas, biscuits, cereals, powdered gray and sauce mixes, yeasts and alcohol products made from grains.

Gluten triggers an immune response in the small intestine of people with gluten intolerance and those with celiac disease. In other words, the body creates antibodies to fight the gluten, thinking it is a foreign invader. In the process of fighting the gluten, the antibodies also attack the villi of the small intestine, creating all sorts symptoms and discomfort.


Some of these symptoms are:

  • Bloating
  • Constipation
  • Migraines
  • Diarrhea
  • Fatigue
  • Abdominal pain
  • Mineral deficiencies
  • Unexplained weight loss
  • Anemia
  • Distended abdomen
  • Bone- and/or joint pain
  • Delayed growth in children
  • Tooth abnormalities


The following video discusses some of the various symptoms that are typically associated with celiac disease:



The list of foods containing gluten below will allow you to avoid gluten if you have coeliac disease or a gluten allergy:

Wheat, barley, and rye are all off-limits. Some experts think that oats should also be forbidden due to dangers of cross-contamination.

  • Wheat
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat grass
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Matzo
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Oats
  • Oat bran
  • Oat fiber


Below is a list of foods and products you wouldn’t expect to have gluten. In some cases, wheat is added as a thickener; barley malt might be added as a form of natural flavor. Read the labels of these items carefully, look for gluten-containing ingredients and select only products that are specifically labeled as “ gluten-free .”

  • Broth
  • Coating Mixes
  • Communion Wafers
  • Crab cakes
  • Croutons
  • Imitation Bacon
  • Imitation Seafood
  • Malt from barley or corn
  • Malt vinegar Breading
  • Marinades
  • Meat Balls
  • Meat Loaf
  • Monosodium glutamate
  • Pastas
  • Processed Meats
  • Rice Dream-processed w/ barley
  • Roux – a sauce base
  • Sauces
  • Sausages (some)
  • Self-basting Poultry
  • Soup Bases
  • Soy-based veggie burgers
  • Soy sauce
  • Stuffings
  • Tamari
  • Thickeners


The above lists are by no means complete, so you should always be careful what foods and products you buy. In general, it’s a good idea to only buy products that are specifically labeled as “gluten-free” .


For more information on this topic, also check out the following blog post: gluten free foods list


More articles and resources on foods containing gluten, gluten free diets and similar topics can be found here:

Wisegeek.com provides a basic explanation of gluten with a thorough discussion thread on the subject

GlutenFree.com is a good site that sells a large list of gluten free foods and products. This site also lists some absolutely delicious gluten free diet recipes .

Also, take a look at Wikipedia to learn more about gluten and gluten free diets . The site provides a basic overview of gluten free products, Cross-contamination issues, the Accuracy of “gluten-free” labels, gluten and Alcoholic beverages, Deficiencies linked to maintaining a gluten-free diet and more.

Don’t forget to check out celiac.com – this site provides a very complete explanation on everything around gluten and gluten free products .

Vegsoc.org also provides a gluten free foods list with some interesting nutritional advices.

Additional gluten free recipes can be found at csaceliacs.org. The recipes are ordered into various groups: desserts, breakfasts, breads, main dishes, salads, snacks…

Gluten Free Cornbread Recipe

November 11, 2010 · Posted in Gluten Free Recipes · Comment

Cornbread in America

Corn is a staple food in many parts of the world including United States, South America and Africa. Corn has many food values necessary the body. They include calories for body metabolism, skin nourishing and care, boosting of the nervous system, maintaining low cholesterol levels and digestion. It is rich in selenium, manganese, phosphorus, iron, magnesium, zinc and copper. It also contains Vitamin B (Folate, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Riboflavin, and Thiamin) and traces of Vitamin E and Vitamin A. Above all cornbread is a natural gluten free food.

Cornbread Recipe

Americans natives used cornbread long before Europeans started migrating to the Americas. The earliest cornbreads were a simple mixture of cornmeal, water, and salt were called “pone”, from the Algonquin word “apan”. The ingredients for a quick and cheesy gluten-free cornbread include 2 eggs, 300 milliliters of milk, 150 grams cornmeal, 1500 grams of grated cheese, teaspoon of salt, 125 grams of chickpea flour, 2.5 teaspoons baking powder and 50 grams of butter. It is baked at 160 degrees centigrade for 30-35 minutes.

Treatment of Coeliac Disease



Gluten-free cornbread is suitable for people with gluten allergy or intolerant to wheat (gluten) and those suffering from coeliac disease or dermatitis herpetiformis. Successful treatment of coeliac disease is done by complete exclusion of gluten and is exclusively dietary. The patient to avoid high protein diet, all foods containing barley, rye and wheat must be avoided. To exclude gluten the patient must avoid a many manufactured and processed foods. This limits choice of food choice and variety. Food labeling does not confirm that the food is gluten-free. Gluten may be present in food from ingredients which are not labeled and contamination while processing. Foods in a jar can or packet are always suspect. Food that has been coated or modified in any way is also suspect.

Other Gluten Free Foods

Supermarkets and manufacturers identify gluten-free foods by providing information or a logo on the label. Coeliac Society publishes a continually up-dated list of manufactured foods which are free from gluten. Gluten-free foods such as flour mixes, flour, biscuits, cornbreads, crackers, and pasta are recommended for patients of coeliac disease or dermatitis herpetiformis. Their use is recommended and encouraged to reduce the risk of dietary imbalance or non-compliance. Luxury food items such as gluten-free fancy biscuits, chocolate and cakes are available but not recommended as they unnecessarily increase medical costs.

Author Bio:-

See how you can get rid of gluten allergy and ways to maintain for a healthy life.